Error loading page.
Try refreshing the page. If that doesn't work, there may be a network issue, and you can use our self test page to see what's preventing the page from loading.
Learn more about possible network issues or contact support for more help.

The Start of Everything

A Novel

by Emily Winslow

eBook

In this stunning psychological thriller for readers of Tana French, Kate Atkinson, and Donna Tartt, Emily Winslow has crafted a literary prism told through the eyes of her many intricately drawn characters. Masterly and mesmerizing, The Start of Everything will captivate until the very last page.

"If you don't want to see me again, say so. But it's not right to say nothing. It's not right to go silent. You know what to do."

Cambridge, England: Outside the city, the badly decomposed body of a teenage girl has washed up in the flooded fens. Detective Inspector Chloe Frohmann and her partner, Morris Keene, must work quickly to identify the victim before the press takes off with the salacious story.

Across the hallowed paths and storied squares of Cambridge University, the detectives follow scant clues toward the identity of the dead girl. Eventually, their search leads them to Deeping House, an imposing country manor where, over the course of one Christmas holiday, three families, two nannies, and one young writer were snowed in together. Chloe Frohmann begins to unravel a tangled web of passions and secrets, of long-buried crimes and freshly committed horrors. But in order to reveal the truth--about misaddressed letters, a devastating affair, and a murdered teenager--she may have to betray her partner.

"Emily Winslow effortlessly weaves together separate lives with intertwined lies, creating a powerful web of small deceits and horrifying misdeeds. The Start of Everything is a must read!"--#1 New York Times bestselling author Lisa Gardner


Expand title description text
Publisher: Random House Publishing Group

Kindle Book

  • Release date: January 8, 2013

OverDrive Read

  • ISBN: 9780345534583
  • Release date: January 8, 2013

EPUB eBook

  • ISBN: 9780345534583
  • File size: 2190 KB
  • Release date: January 8, 2013


Loading
Formats

Kindle Book
OverDrive Read
EPUB eBook

Languages

English

In this stunning psychological thriller for readers of Tana French, Kate Atkinson, and Donna Tartt, Emily Winslow has crafted a literary prism told through the eyes of her many intricately drawn characters. Masterly and mesmerizing, The Start of Everything will captivate until the very last page.

"If you don't want to see me again, say so. But it's not right to say nothing. It's not right to go silent. You know what to do."

Cambridge, England: Outside the city, the badly decomposed body of a teenage girl has washed up in the flooded fens. Detective Inspector Chloe Frohmann and her partner, Morris Keene, must work quickly to identify the victim before the press takes off with the salacious story.

Across the hallowed paths and storied squares of Cambridge University, the detectives follow scant clues toward the identity of the dead girl. Eventually, their search leads them to Deeping House, an imposing country manor where, over the course of one Christmas holiday, three families, two nannies, and one young writer were snowed in together. Chloe Frohmann begins to unravel a tangled web of passions and secrets, of long-buried crimes and freshly committed horrors. But in order to reveal the truth--about misaddressed letters, a devastating affair, and a murdered teenager--she may have to betray her partner.

"Emily Winslow effortlessly weaves together separate lives with intertwined lies, creating a powerful web of small deceits and horrifying misdeeds. The Start of Everything is a must read!"--#1 New York Times bestselling author Lisa Gardner


Expand title description text